Pace, conditioning & Injury prevention, Weds 10th October

The Grid Roller – the ‘hardest’ version

Whether you are jetting off with us to Lake Garda this week, part of our Brooks team, a Rise runner looking for their next goal, or simply someone who would like to join us for the first time, this session is suitable for all.
This Wednesday will be a mixture of conditioning, along with a timed 1k pace run for our newbies. Whether you are fast, medium or slow, it doesn’t matter. Knowing what pace you are now will improve your training, and it will enable you to see how much you have progressed when we next time your 1km in around 8 weeks.

Garda girls, do  not fear. We won’t be tiring out your legs but we will be giving you a workout, both in terms of conditioning and a relaxed pace session. It is good to keep your legs ticking over. If you rest, you rust!

At the end of the session, weather permitting, we will be spending some time on the use of a foam roller. It would be ideal if you can ALL buy one and bring it with you.

If you are planning on making a commitment to running, a foam roller is vital to help prevent injury and only cost around £15. (the one pictured costs more but go to any reputable running shop and they will be able to show you what you need). Not much compared to having expensive massages if you neglect this important part of your training, as essential as actually getting out and running.

Use it correctly, and you could say goodbye to knee pain, calf tightness and the associated plantar issues this can bring. Garda Girls, please bring your rollers too.

Nick Rivett Sport and SweatShop both sell them and provide 10% discount to Fitbitch runners.

Please also bring a skipping rope if you have one, and wear your watch if you have one with a timer.

COMMENT HERE IF YOU ARE COMING SO WE CAN ENSURE WE HAVE ENOUGH COACHES.

Where: Lawns adjacent to Hove Street, parking in King Alfred Centre

Drop in: £5

Coaches: Rachael & Melissa

24 responses to “Pace, conditioning & Injury prevention, Weds 10th October

  1. I’ll be there.

  2. dreamthinkshare

    I’m coming!

  3. I’ll be coming, look forward to it 🙂 (Fitbitch virgin)

  4. I’ll be there, thanks Jenny

  5. I’ll be there 🙂
    Thx
    Suzi

  6. I’m coming

  7. I’ll be there….

  8. I’ll be there. C. 🙂

  9. Im there!

  10. I’ll be there.

  11. I plan to come to this session 🙂

  12. I’ll be there.

  13. I will be there!

  14. I’ll be there x

  15. See you there.

  16. I’ll be there

  17. i’ll be there too

  18. I will be coming with my sister Penny Figg.

  19. i will be there xx

  20. Sorry sorry – scrap that, I can’t make it after all as stuck at work. See you for Sunday run for sure

  21. See you there!

  22. Really sorry, unable to make it tonight now 😦 Gutted as I bought a foam roller in my lunch break today as well!! I’m actually moving to London in three weeks so would really appreciate any pointers on how to use it – will this be covered in a session in the next few weeks at all?

Leave a Reply

